Look here as this is might explain it better. harvest moon .jpg. Isaiah 13:9,15 Behold, the day of the LORD cometh, cruel both with wrath and fierce anger, to lay the land desolate: and he shall destroy the sinners thereof out of it… During a blood moon, the celestial arrangement is such that the Earth acts as a curtain between the Sun and the Moon. When the rules tell us to: 614.12 "...check the characteristics of the permanent as it would exist on the battlefield, taking into account replacement effects that have already modified how it enters the battlefield (see rule 616.1), continuous effects from the permanent's own static abilities that would apply to it once it's on the battlefield, and continuous effects that already exist and would apply to the permanent.". I think you'll be playing it too late for it to really cripple anyone's mana base. Sunday's full moon will be a harvest moon -- and a blood moon and a supermoon to boot. It seems most decks that use red are more interested in using it for weird interactions / discard, rather than the removal it once offered with bolt since push was printed. Frankly, I'm not sure if there's a manabase that can work, though Mike Flores are others are certainly trying. But Blood Sun and Alpine Moon don’t do so well with that- Blood Sun lets them keep their normal mana abilities, and Alpine Moon makes lands BETTER at mana fixing! The responses from Neotrup and pskinn01 are the correct ones. Contact | Today we’ll explore its possible uses and some of its rulings, since the card can lead to some weird scenarios. The problem is Ponza needs 8x Fetchlands to get those kind of numbers, and every Fetch drawn after Turn 2 is a dead card (at least until a Blood Moon hits the table). Acts 2:20 | View whole chapter | See verse in context The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before that great and notable day of the Lord come: Not that I'm saying what I'm playing is common, but some versions of Tron are definitely ready to play it. And on average how long does it take a normal modern land base to normalize from one of these effects when considering a 2-3 color mana base? What happens if I copy the guildgate? They're not entering tapped because of any of their own abilities or other replacement effects, but due to the results of the copy effect we had to apply in step C above. Question: "Will the sun really be turned to darkness and the moon to blood (Joel 2:31)?" Even then it only shuts off fetches, manlands, utility lands, and although it stops Valakut triggers, it won't stop Tron. How brutal is a turn 2-3 [[Blood Moon]] / [[Blood Sun]]? But has no mana ability with Blood Sun. quoting from notes on the update on wizards "So this rule's changing. In scenario 2, Blood Sun gets applied, and when you check what replacement effects modify how Vesuva enters the battlefield, you see a land with absolutely no abilities is trying to enter the battlefield and there are no replacement effects to apply. The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and notable day of the Lord come: sun. DMCA requests | What happens if I copy nothing? Terms of Use | Blood Moon is primarily used to attack greedy manabases full of dual lands in older formats, turning your opponents Underground Seas and Windswept Heaths and Hallowed Fountains into plain old Mountains. Nothing that Blood Moon or Blood Sun does will alter that. (I forgot about that earlier). The replacement effect on Vesuva cannot be applied as it lacks that ability. Just by reading its name, you can identify the allusion to Blood Moon, a an incredibly powerful Eternal card. And on average how long does it take a normal modern land base to normalize from one of these effects when considering a 2-3 color mana base? Sorry about the confusion. In scenario 1, Blood Moon gets applied, and when you check what replacement effects modify how Vesuva enters the battlefield, you see that a nonbasic mountain is trying to enter the battlefield and there are no replacement effects to apply. TappedOut.js Blog Widget. The new rules apply static effects to the permanent as it is trying to come into play. I have seen Tron play it though to stop my Field of Ruins and Bojuka Bog as Mono Blue Living End. Not close to the deck I had in mind but thanks it might line up with the question. During a total lunar eclipse, Earth lines up between the Moon and the Sun. Answer: Joel 2:31 predicts, “The sun shall be turned to darkness, and the moon to blood, before the great and awesome day of the LORD comes.” Will the sun literally be turned black and the moon turned to blood? The results of Scenario 3 with both Moon and Sun are the same as Scenario 1. When this happens, the only light that reaches the Moon's surface is from the edges of the Earth's atmosphere. So it axes all replacement effects on the lands, and how they enter play. One meaning of a "blood moon" is based on its red glow. We have to apply the results of the copy effect first before taking other things into account. Ohh cool thanks! (AP file photo) Sunday's full moon has a lot going for it -- almost too much. Blood Moon makes it have the ability to produce red mana. The order is: A) Self-replacement effectsB) Effects that modify under whose control a permanent would enter the battlefieldC) Copy effects (in this example, Vesuva's own ability)D) Everything else. In both cases Vesuva enters the battlefield untapped without becoming a copy of anything. So I'm curios on weather or not its still worth using against a part red deck, if you are chocking them for less colors compared to a BW or BUG deck for instance. In Scenario 2 with Blood Sun, the Sun won't really do much. Ponza comes close ... with 21 Lands and 10 accelerants (i.e., mana dorks + Utopia Sprawl), the deck has a >75% chance of 3-4 mana on Turn 2. Both are dependent on the other (Vesuva makes itself a basic, granting immunity to Blood Moon, Blood Moon removes Vesuva's ability, so two way dependency), and both apply simultaneously as the land enters the battlefield. Sun will remove the "etb tapped" ability if you copy the Guildgate, but I doubt that will ever matter. I play Vesuva. As of the 2017 Ixalan rules update*, Blood Moon's ability will stop Cavern of Souls' first ability from working as it enters the battlefield: In Modern, if you're running Simian Spirit Guide, you can cast it early sometimes but not reliably often. Vesuva is the only card of its kind, and cards like that lend themselves very well to corner cases. If you copy nothing then it will enter untapped, have the Mountain subtype, can tap for , and won't have its printed ability. Blood Moon applies in layer 4 (type-changing effects) and Blood Sun applies in layer 6 (ability adding and removing effects) so we apply Blood Moon first – all nonbasics are just Mountains – and then Blood Sun causes them to lose their non-mana abilities afterwards, but they’re already just Mountains so they don’t have any! Not necessarily. Articles and comments are user-submitted and do not represent official endorsements of this site. Privacy statement | Scenario 2: Same questions as scenario 1, but Blood Sun instead of Blood Moon, Scenario 3: Scenario 1, but I control both the Sun and the Moon. If you copy Forest then it will be a Forest. So Vesuva entes the battlefield untapped as a land with no mana abilities in all three. the "replacement effects that have already modified how it enters the battlefield" part is very important, as Vesuva's copy effect is one of the types of replacement effects that qualify for the exception. A blood moon against the night sky in 2014. Credit: NASA Ames Research Center/Brian Day. In Scenario 1 with Blood Moon, Vesuva will still enter tapped if you apply the copy effect, as that's part of what its copy effect does.